“But all things should be done decently and in order.” 1 Corinthians. 14:40

Good order is a sign of a house managed well. The same is true for the body of Christ, the Church. Disorganization ruins the family of God, just as it would any other family. It is the product of laziness, carelessness, and a lack of love. A house in good order, on the other hand, is a sign of love for God and for each other.

The Reformed churches have sought to follow the practice of church government as recorded in the New Testament. The office of “elder” or “overseer” is called by God to shepherd and oversee the body of Christ by protecting, teaching, and leading. (Acts 20:17, 28; 1 Timothy 3:1 – 13, 5:17 – 25; Titus 1:5 – 7; 1 Peter 5:1 – 2)

The minister or pastor is a special kind of elder devoted to preaching and teaching (1 Timothy 5:17).

The other office called by God is “deacon” (Philippians 1:1, 1 Timothy 3:8, 12). Though every member of the church is called to minister or serve, deacons are those called to an official, public position within the church. They oversee the practical, material needs in the church by receiving the contributions of the congregation and distributing them appropriately. As such, they can also be called “ministers of mercy” since they are in the position of the church’s practical care ministry.

These offices form the consistory or governing body of a local church. They work together to maintain order in the local church so that it may carry out its mission to announce the good news of Christ and extend His Lordship throughout the world.

Forest Grove Reformed Church Consistory


Dave Brouwer
Scott Brouwer
Tom Miedema, Co-VP

Randy Lubbers
Jeff Smit
Bill Veldhuizen, Clerk

Mark Brouwer
Wayne Oosterink
Evan Peuse, Co-VP


Derk Smallegan
Jeremy Kortering
Joe Clausen

Jon Keppel, Chairman
Jason Mulder
Brett Oosterink, Treasurer

Dan Camferrman
Craig Cotts
Ryan Vande Bunte

Executive Team

Pastor Paul
Tom Miedema
Evan Peuse
Bill Veldhuizen
John Keppel
Bret Oosterink

Congregational Care Ministry

Purpose: Demonstrating care and compassion for church family and community, being aware of the needs of the people, and working closely with the consistory and pastor.

Description: This committee is to help plan programs and events to demonstrate care and compassion for people in the congregation and community. They are to work closely with the consistory and pastor to be aware of the needs of people.

Lay Coordinator: Pastor Doug Hoeve

Visitation Team: Tom M.

Social: Jeff Smit & Jeremy Koortering

Outreach - Mission Team

Purpose: The Mission and Outreach Committee encourages a mission-minded focus for the church by supporting and encouraging missions local and abroad.

Description: This committee is to call on new people in the community and to be a close link with missionaries that the church supports. They are to help the church seek out mission needs of the community and the world. They are to suggest mission support programs to the consistory.

Lay Coordinator: Bonnie O.

Evangelism & Mission: Dave Brouwer & Bret Oosterink

Forest Grove C.L.C.: Bill Veldhuizen & Jason Mulder.

Vacation Bible School: Dave B. & Brett O.

Worship Ministry Team

Purpose: To coordinate and evaluate the worship services so that they please God and build up the church.

Description: This Committee is responsible for all that happens in and to worship, from greeting people to ushering; to music, to decorations, banners, preaching, drama, sound system; to providing organ and piano and other musical instruments.

Coordinator: Randy Lubbers
Sacraments and Pulpit Supply: Randy L., Gary S. & Derk S.
Music: David G.

Educational Ministry Team

Purpose: To provide appropriate biblical educational opportunities to all age groups in order for them to learn the will of God, using this knowledge to be an example of what is good, acceptable, and perfect.

Description: This Committee is responsible for all educational programs of the church, including the children, youth, and adults. They are to select material, programs, teachers, and training for teachers.

Lay Coordinator:

Sunday School/Family Night: Fred H. & Jason M.

Sunday School Superintendent & Treasurer: Linda Schaap

Prayer Team

Purpose: The Prayer Committee encourages and equips the members of the congregation in corporate prayer and their personal prayer life.

Description: This committee is responsible for praying for the needs of our family and community. They are to encourage others to engage in prayer and praise for our Lord Jesus Christ.

Lay Coordinator: Paul Veldhuizen

Elder Consistory Representative: Evan Peuse

Property and Privilege

Church Facility Use: FGRC Office
Custodian:Missy Ulberg
Maintenance/Church Parsonage/Grounds: Brandon O.
Vehicles: Keith N.
Repair Committee: Lay Coordinator – Brandon O.
Larry B., Wayne O., Wayne V., & Chad W.